Turkey Burgers and YAY FOR PROTEIN!

So there’s another savoury recipe heading your way…..

Crazy right? I’m a dessert freak, and here I am, with yet another savoury dish.

But it’s all good, ’cause they’re yummy!

They’re BBQ Turkey Burgers – healthy, flavoursome, moist and easy to make!

I am really working on dessert/sweet recipes, and because I love sweet things so much I want them to be – in my opinion at least – awesome before I post them up here. Not just a half-assed, OK, attempt. I’ve tried out chocolate bread pudding, peanut butter brownies, carrot cake pancakes and more! And while I’m close on those pancakes, I really want them to be super. BUT. I do have a chocolate mug cake recipe that I make alot, and to me, it’s tasty . Just gotta remember to take a photo of it, and it will be up soon enough.

Also, although I’m not on some Dukan or Atkins diet, and I am so not an athlete by any means, I’ve really been getting into eating more protein lately, as it seems to keep me fuller, which is always a good thing in my eyes. Y’know, unless there’s a slice of cheesecake or something in front of you, but you’re too full to eat it. That’s a half and half one for me. And so this recipe is protein based with the turkey, and I’m going to give a serving suggestion for it to make a protein packed, yummy meal out of it, without using what you would normally serve with a burger. Although go ahead with buns and fries, because that’s what I usually eat burgers with!

Bit into it, then realised I should take a picture :P
Bit into it, then realised I should take a picture 😛

So without further ado, here are my BBQ Turkey Burgers!

BBQ Turkey Burgers:

Servings: 4 burgers    Calories per burger: 180

Ingredients:

450g (1lb) Turkey Mince

50gO

2 Cloves of Garlic

60g (4Tbsp) BBQ Sauce (split into 2 x 30g portions)

10g (1Tbsp) Breadcrumbs

1/2tsp Dried Basil

Salt & Pepper

Method:

Wash those filthy hands of yours! WARNING. You are about to handle meat. Got that? Yeah? OK.

First off, finely chop up the garlic and onion or mince it if you want. Mincing is probably better for the garlic. Then in a bowl combine all the ingredients but  only half of the BBQ sauce (30g). Once all the ingredients are distributed evenly, split your meat mixture into 4 blobs. If you want to be creepily exact like me, weigh out the blobs to the same weight. Then flatten these blobs and shape them into patties about 1.5cm thick (1/2″).

I usually cook my burgers under the grill*. To do so, turn it on and place the patties underneath. Real simple. Cook them for about 10-12 minutes, turning over halfway through and basting them with the remaining 30g of BBQ sauce.

*You can totally do them in a frying pan, on an outdoors grill (yum!), a griddle or even just oven bake them. 

 

Protein Packed Meal
All the protein…..

This serving suggestion shows the burger (already cut into due to me being unstoppable!) served with rice and an egg. The rice is packed with black beans, peas (petis pois) and spinach. I love spinach, ngl.

With 50g basmati rice used, 100g spinach, 100g peas, 60g beans, 1 medium egg and a turkey burger, this meal was SUPER filling.

And how much protein? 44g

And even though they’re just estimates, and don’t cater to personal needs, that’s 1g less than the GDA protein for women, and only 11g less than the GDA for men. In one meal. That may be a good or bad thing to you, but to me?

I couldn’t care less. Well I could, but lets not go there. Although protein keeps me full, I don’t care that much about counting it. If food is good for me and tastes delicious, and makes me feel good as well as full, I’m happy. But for some, there are actual goals in life, and protein is a key to it. Me, I just wander about life aimlessly, but it’s all good, cause yeah 😛

So goodbye. Farewell. We shall meet again soon my friends.

Leave a Reply

