Super Amazingly Delicious Macaroni Cheese

So that previous quest for Macaroni Cheese for one person is long gone. Maybe if I scaled down this one it would work?

Thank you brain. Must try that one.

But for now I shall provide you with a full on recipe for a family, friends, casual meetup in your kitchen of 4-6 people? Do you do that?

This stuff is so good. Like I said before, I don’t really like Macaroni Cheese much, but I think that has changed now. What I know I don’t like though, is ‘raw’ cheese. Is cheese raw? I’m not sure, must look that one up. But cheese before its been cooked or melted or something…..

This Macaroni Cheese isn’t some super healthy cottage cheese and butternut squash version. It is however a little better than other recipes, and I’m sure if you use lower fat versions of the cheese it could be even better, all I had on hand was regular though. You could also just use cornflour and make a paste as opposed to a roux with butter, but I was making this for my family as a first time I figured why not go all out? I even put some crispy bacon pieces in this! I never usually go all out like this so it felt good.

I am tempted to eat a whole tray of this stuff which is probably not so good but I think its okay because I served this for 4 and I was stuffed by the end of my portion with not enough room for dessert, for at least another hour  which happens like never. I always have room for dessert. Like always.

In fact I think my next post should be a dessert post because this blog needs something sweet.

But for now I shall leave you with this super amazing decadence.

I know I take crap photos, sorry :'(
I know I take crap photos, sorry 😥

Super Amazingly Delicious Macaroni Cheese:

Serves: 4-6       Calories per Serving:  for 4 – 625   for 6 – 420

Ingredients:

Filling:

300g Pasta (whatever you prefer)

20g Butter

30g Cornflour

750ml Semi-Skimmed Milk

75g Mature Cheddar

75g Red Leicester

1/2tsp Paprika

Salt & Pepper to taste

Topping:

50g Grated Mozzarella

15g Breadcrumbs

Method:

Grate the Red Leicester and Cheddar and set them aside. Get your pasta boiling and cook it till your desired texture. While it’s cooking start the cheese sauce by making a roux in a pot/saucepan with the butter  and cornflour. Slowly add the milk little by little, mixing until your sauce is smooth with each bit. Once the sauce has thickened up, add in the two cheeses and stir until they’ve completely melted in.

Now’s the time to add the paprika and season with salt and pepper, specifically doing the salt now as the cheese probably already added some saltiness. Take off the heat and when your pasta is done – you might have done this before – drain it and add it into the sauce. Mix up the two until the pasta is fully coated. If you want you can add any extras you like now like vegetables and/or meat (a.k.a BACON).
Uncooked Macaroni Cheese

Transfer the pasta to a baking dish now and sprinkle over the grated mozzarella and breadcrumbs. Place the Macaroni Cheese into a pre-heated oven of Gas Mark 7 for about 10-15 minutes – until the top is brown and crispy. When it’s done take it out and let it cool for 5 minutes, then serve it up and groan in absolute pleasure my friends. I dare you.

So yeah, try this stuff. And I highly recommend the bacon.

Ciao for now!

Leave a Reply

