Coconut Milk Hot Cocoa! (healthy =O)

Pretty darn good this stuff is.

Y’know, if I do say so myself.

Now I shall tell you a little story of how I came across this recipe. I was making Chicken Tikka Masala – which btw tasted amazing – and I didn’t want to use cream as I figured there must be a healthier way. Not milk either, I mean please, too thin and not decadent. There were a few recipes with canned coconut milk but almost all of them said ‘do not use light’.

So what’s a girl to do?

Take a risk!

So I used LIGHT COCONUT MILK! dundundun…..

It totally worked!

Coconut Milk Hot Cocoa

But yeah, this is about that^ hot cocoa. So I had left over coconut milk as the recipe I made/created only used half a can. So I put half of that half can along with some dairy milk in a mug with cocoa and bam! Creamy Hot Cocoa. It doesn’t taste strongly of coconut or anything but it is darn yummy and thick. And who doesn’t want that in a hot cocoa/chocolate?

For anyone who is interested in the calories it’s mentioned without any sweetener but do add some, this is a chocolate drink. It’s just there’s so many different sweeteners out there; cane sugar, honey, stevia, sucralose….. choice is up to you!

So without further ado, heres the bloomin’ recipe already.

Coconut Milk Hot Cocoa

Serves: 1           Calories per Serving: 160

Ingredients:

100ml Light Coconut Milk (canned)

100ml Semi-Skimmed Milk

10g Cocoa (2 rounded tsp)

Sweetener

Optional Add-ins/Toppings: Whipped Cream, Chocolate Chips, Chocolate syrup, Marshamllows, Nutella…..

Method:

In a mug make a paste with a little of either milk and the cocoa. Top it off with the rest of both milks and stick it the microwave for around 2-3 minutes or alternatively heat it up on a medium-high heat on the stove. Sweeten it with whatever you like and transfer the deliciousness to a mug.

Drink and enjoy!

Nom.

You’re welcome. And if you don’t like it, um, don’t tell me ’cause I’ll be gutted.

Byeeeeeeee

Leave a Reply

