Meatball Chilli

Mmmm Chilli. One of my favourite dinners. Easy peasy, warm and comforting, and still with a kick 😉

Just like me 😉

Y’know, except for the easy part…..

I remember about 3 years I saw this recipe in Sainsbury’s Magazine for Meatball Chilli Con Carne, and I made it. It was so good! Totally lost that magazine but I remembered it a couple of days ago and was inspired to create my own recipe for it.

That inspiration was followed through – that’s right, no procrastinating over here people. It’s a revolution!

It was yummy 🙂 Only problem I would say was the kidney beans were a bit too soft, almost mushy, but I think that was just the brand/can I bought because they were mushy when I went to rinse them from the tin. Ah well!

sadly photos never turn out as nice at night ;'(
sadly photos never turn out as nice at night ;'(

Served mine with an Arabic pitta, love those things! The kind of wrap used for Shawarma and stuff. I love Shawarma. Probably the best wrap ever. Go ahead and serve it over rice or on its own with some cheese on top. I also love cheese on top. Pretty darn good.

I don’t usually measure out seasoning, just taste as go, but I jotted them down this time for your benefit 😉 Of course change the amount of chilli (or other seasoning) to your tastes, but I think the amount stated is a good way to go, not too spicy but still some heat.

Meatball Chilli

Serves: 4      Calories per serving: 295

Ingredients:

Around 500g Mince (I used a 525g pack of lean pork – beef or turkey would work well too)

1 medium Onion (135g)

1 small Capsicum Pepper (70g)

1 can Red Kidney Beans, drained

1 can Chopped Tomatoes

1 can Water (empty can topped up with water) (about 1 1/2 cups)

20g Tomato Puree (2T)

15g Gravy Granules (2T)

15ml Dark Soy Sauce (1T)

1tsp Paprika

1tsp Garlic Granules (or 2 fresh cloves)

1/2tsp Basil

1/2tsp Chilli Powder

1/2tsp Chilli Flakes

1/2tsp Sugar

Salt & Pepper (to taste)

 

Method:

Chop up the onions and pepper (and garlic if using fresh) as fine or as chunky as you like.

In a pot, bring a 1/4 cup (60ml) of water to the boil then add the onion, pepper and garlic (either form) and ‘water sautée’ them till soft (you may need to add more water as it evaporates/is absorbed), you can just use oil if you want, I’m just givin’ you options 😉

Onions and Pepper

Add the tomato purée and coat the vegetables in it.

Add the chopped tomatoes and red kidney beans and bring the whole sauce up to a bubble.

Add all the other ingredients except the mince and turn the sauce down to a simmer and cover.

To make the meatballs, you can add a little salt, pepper and paprika to the mince if you wish and separate it into little balls. About 20 is a good size and allows 5 per person.

In a greased pan, fry the the meatballs till they’re browned and sealed all round, they don’t have to be cooked through.

Frying Meatballs

Place the sealed meatballs in the sauce and simmer for at least 1 hour, if not longer.

Serve up and enjoy with whatever you like!

 

Mmm chilli, love it! What’s your favourite side/topping with chilli?

Toodles! x

Leave a Reply

