Mac ‘n’ Cheese FOR 1!

Yeahhh. Did it.

Image

Remeber that post ages ago about how I attempted a macaroni cheese for one and it was a complete fail? And how I didn’t really like cheese sauces and so I wasn’t too sad?

Well after my super duper amazing macaroni cheese I was converted. I was also desperate to make a simpler version just for 1 person.

And I did it.

Image
source: http://www.ragestache.com

I could brag and make you jealous but instead I’m just going to share it with you because imma beautifully kind person. And I’m also going to tell you its coincidently a tad lower calorie than my ‘more servings’ version – but only because of the way I scaled it down and simplified it.

So here we go. And I thoroughly recommend adding some bacon.

Mac ‘n’ Cheese (FOR 1!)

Serves: 1             Calories per Serving: 475

 

Ingredients:

60g Pasta (2.1oz) (macaroni, fusilli, rigatoni, penne – even spaghetti or tagliatelle!)

150ml Semi-Skimmed Milk (1/2cup + 2T)

7g Cornflour (1 rounded tsp)

30g Hard Cheese, grated (1oz) (i like red leicester for the colour)

10g Bread Crumbs (2tsp)

Salt & Pepper

Optional: Bacon, Bacon, BACON, maybe Peas?

Method:

Get that pasta boiling in a pan o’ H2O gurl! cook to your preferred texture

Mix together the cornflour and a splash of the milk until a paste is formed, then mix that paste into the rest of the milk.

In a small non-stick pan bring the milk mixture to the boil then keep it on a low heat. Once it’s started to thicken up nicely add the cheese and stir until its all melted in and you have a good ol’ cheese sauce.

Season this to taste with salt and pepper. i recommend a little paprika too, just for kicks :L You can also add in any optional ingredients here (aka non-optional BACON).

Take your cooked pasta and drain it once its done, then add it to the cheese sauce and stir until all the pasta is coated. You could just serve it and eat it like its is now, but your not going to.

Pour the mac ‘n’ cheese into a small baking dish and top it with the breadcrumbs. Place it in very hot oven or under a grill and bake until the breadcrumbs are golden and crispy.

Now you may eat the deliciousness.

Image

I kinda feel like a bit of a genius right now. I’m super duper proud of myself.

What’s your favourite kind of Pasta?

Leave a Reply

