Chewy Oatmeal Raisin COOKIES

COOKIES!

Image

These are really good btw.

Chewy in the centres and crispy round the edges, chock full off raisins and lots and lots of oats (as I hope you can see).

These are soooo good I don’t even think I can afford to try and be slightly amusing for you guys right now. That is of course if you found me slightly amusing before, because I mean if you didn’t then, um,  never mind. These cookies are deeelicioussss.

My mum actually told me these were “The best cookies [she’s] ever had”.

Boom.

Now I mean it is possible she’s just had really mediocre cookies all her life, or just not that many great ones. And it is also possible that all the cookies she’s ever eaten were store bought from a foil packet. However, I don’t believe that to be the case. And after I made those omg-is-this-what-heaven-is Chocolate Chip Cookies, I do believe that by my mother saying this I have really and truly been complimented.

Image

^ I mean c’mon.

Of course if you’re more of a chocolate lover you may prefer those chocolate chip cookies, and if oatmeal raisin hasn’t ever been very high on your list then these might not be the “best cookies ever” for you, but YOU WILL LIKE THEM. And if you don’t then I’m really sorry and will refund you the money you spent on them (hahahahahha no).

I think you will like them though.

That’s why you should make them.

Then share them with all your friends,

Got that? Okay. Here’s the recipe!

Image

btw, I apologise if my attempt at being ‘artistic’ with those oats failed. However if I didn’t fail please feel free to tell me as I’m still learning the ropes with this whole photography thing.

Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Makes: 8-12 (8/9 makes nice big bakery style ones)            Calories per Serving (for 9): 270

Ingredients:

115g/1/2 cup Butter

100g/little over 1/2 cup Dark Brown Sugar

1 Egg

90g/3/4 cup Plain Flour

3/4tsp Cinnamon

1/2tsp Baking Soda

1/4-1/2tsp Salt*

90g/around 2/3 cup Raisins and/or Sultanas

130g/1 1/2 cups Oats

*1/2tsp if using Unsalted Butter

Method:

In a mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugar until creamy, then add the egg and beat some more until completely smooth.

Add in all of the other ingredients except for the raisins and oats and mix until all combined evenly. You can mix these dry ingredients separately in another bowl before hand for better distribution.

Now add the raisins and then the oats, and mix until you have a scoop-able dough.

Using a spoon, your hands or an ice cream scoop, form the dough into balls and place on a greased/lined baking tray, leaving room for the cookies to spread and then a little more. My sheet tray fit about 5 large scoops (when i was making 9 cookies total). Flatten the cookie blobs slightly with the back of a spoon or fork, then put in the oven and bake for about 14-18 minutes.

Once the cookies are out the oven, let them cool for a few minutes, then remove them from the tray onto a cooling rack or cool plate. Or your mouth 🙂

Now devour.

Boom. Pow. COOKIES! 

These taste great with a little dessicated coconut put on top before baking, and are amazing served just with milk, because they really don’t require much else.

What’s your favourite cookie flavour/type? I have no idea about mine, I love oatmeal raisin however anything stuffed with something like Nutella, salted caramel, Oreo’s, Reese’s, heaven etc is also great.

I find it a bit odd how I refer to heaven so much in my posts however I don’t actually know if I believe in any of that.

Oh well. Who needs their life ponderments (its a word now) answered when they have cookies? amiright?

Leave a Reply

