Cinnamon Rolls!

Cinnamon Rolls Captioned

So I suppose consistency isn’t my thing. I mean 19 days since my last post!? Who do I think I am!?

Or maybe estimating time isn’t my thing. Or procrastination is my thing.

Probably Definitely the procrastination.

But I’m back! The amount of times I’ve said that though…..

DSC00091

But this time it’s with cinnamon rolls though so I’m forgiven right? Yeah, I think I’m forgiven.

Cinnamon Rolls are like the best though. I mean sugar – yes please, Brown sugar – yes please, Cinnamon – yes please, In a roll – YES Please.

I am all over topping these with icing as well, whether it be cream cheese icing or just straight up icing sugar mixed with some milk. I hadn’t cause I HAD NO ICING SUGAR I MEAN  WHAT EVEN IS THIS UNACCEPTABLE IS WHAT IT IS I CANNOT BELIEVE THE SASS THE CUPBOARD WAS GIVING ME RUBBING IN THE FACT I HAD NO ICING SUGAR WHAT A COW.

So here’s some Cinnamon Rolls! Add some icing if you please.

Cinnamon Rolls 

Ingredients:

Rolls:

200g/1 2/3 cups Plain Flour, set aside a small handful
150g/1 1/4 cups Wholemeal OR White Bread Flour
25g/2T Dark Brown Sugar, 1tsp set aside
1tsp Salt
1 Package Active Dried Yeast
120ml/1/2 cup Hot water
60ml/1/4 cup 2% Milk
30g/2T Butter
1 egg

Filling:

30g/2T Butter
1 1/2T Cinnamon
45g/1/4 cup Dark Brown Sugar
25g/2T White Sugar (you could totally just use more brown)

DSC00087

Method:

In a small glass, bowl or jug mix together the yeast, tsp of sugar, milk and water and set aside for about 5 minutes, or until frothy

In a larger bowl mix together the flours, sugar and salt. Melt the butter too and pour that into the yeast liquid.

Pour the new yeast liquid into the flour mix and stir until a dough starts to form. Now beat the egg and add this to the dough and keeps tiring until you have a nice soft, possibly slightly sticky, dough.

 

On a clean surface, take some of the set aside flour and sprinkle it over, then take your dough and start to knead it. Knead for 10 minutes, adding flour as needed until you can make a cut into the dough and can see air bubbles.

Of course, you can do this whole process in a machine too.

As for the filling, mix together all the ingredients but the butter in a bowl. melt the butter.

Roll out the dough into a 35x25cm/14x10in rectangle and brush all over with the melted butter. Once covered, sprinkle the cinnamon sugar mixture over evenly.

Roll up the dough tightly length ways and cut into 10 even rolls. Place in a greased baking dish, whether it be round, square or rectangular – just big enough for the rolls to all fit with a little space between them all.

 

Let the rolls rise for 1 1/2 – 2 hours, or until they have double in size. I turn the microwave on for about 3 minutes, then put the rolls in, covered, and let sit in there to rise. You can also let your oven heat up to Gas Mark 1/2, turn it off and let the rolls rise in the closed oven. 

Pre-heat your oven to Gas Mark 5/190°C and once your rolls have doubled in size, bake them for about 25 minutes, until they are golden on top and cooked through.

DSC00088

Shove them in your face now or let cool slightly and TOP WITH ICING.

I now proceed with some nutritional facts – please tell me if you prefer this label or just the calories themselves at the beginning of each post, or you could just say you don’t care at all because to be fair sometimes I just don’t even want to know how many calories are in something 😛

 

NutritionLabel

DSC00092

Boom.

Bye!

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Rolls!

Leave a Reply

