Orange, Chocolate & Bacon Oatmeal Muffins (aka Breakfast Combo Muffins)

Image

You may be wondering where I’ve been for the past 2 weeks. You may not be, at that’s probably the most likely case. However i’ll tell you anyway because I’m really good at rambling about unimportant things.

I’ve been doing nothing! Yay procrastination.

But seriously if panicking about school and studying, making 1 YouTube video and getting noodles from a new joint in town  is considered busy, than I would be surprised.

Sorry! But you may have noticed that whole ‘YouTube’ thing. I actually have a YouTube channel which is totally non-food related and I think I started it before my blog too. I generally just fail at attempts to be funny and relatable, so if you’re into that kinda thing, then great. For the past 3 weeks or so it’s actually been linked on the blog sidebar, so feel free to go check it out and give me some feedback if you want 🙂

Image

Anyway, so I really like breakfast. I think it’s my favourite meal next to dessert, or maybe dinner, dinner can be really good. Lunch isn’t that great though.

Although, lunch could kinda be the same as dinner if you had time. But then again there’s never enough time. And that’s too much food sad.

But aside from that, breakfast is really great.

Image

If you’re not really the video type of person and you enjoy food however, here are some muffins. Preferably breakfast muffins but I also think they’d make a really good addition to a lunch, or as an afternoon treat with a cup of tea – or coffee if that’s how you roll.

I adapted these muffins somewhat quite a bit (is that even proper english?) as well as half the recipe from Lyuba over at Will Cook For Smiles. It’s really the cute food gawker photos that made me click on the link, but the base for the muffins was perfect, soft and crumbly – but they still held their shape.

Image

I definitely gave these muffins my own twist though, with the flavour combination. I originally wanted to make pancakes but those didn’t turn out too well, after I added too much baking soda. The flavour combination was really interesting and tasty to me though, so I decided not to give up and just make muffins instead! This is basically just what I consider some well-known breakfast flavours all shoved together simply because I haven’t seen this combo elsewhere before. I just like to think I’m unique even though I’m probably not.

Inspiration: Oatmeal, Bacon, Orange Juice & Chocolate (which isn’t really breakfast but i mean hello chocolate chip pancakes and pain au chocolat)

I also substituted maple syrup for the honey in the recipe for more breakfast flavours, but the taste didn’t really come through. Either way, honey could be considered breakfast-y too.

So basically, here’s some muffins. Enjoy!

Image

Orange (tangerine?), Chocolate & Bacon Oatmeal Muffins

*adapted from Will Cook For Smiles

Ingredients:
75g/just under 1 cup Oats  (i used a oat, oatbran & wheat bran because i had it)
60g/1/2 cup Plain Flour
11/4 tsp Baking Powder
1/4 tsp Baking Soda
Pinch of Salt
45g/1/4 cup Dark Brown Sugar
1 egg
1/2 cup Buttermilk*
2T Vegetable Oil
1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
1T Honey or Maple Syrup

60g/around 1/3 cup Chocolate Chunks (i used milk)
2 rashers Bacon, cut up at fried until crispy
1-2T/1/2 Orange Zest

*make-shift buttermilk: 100ml 2% Milk, 1T Greek Yoghurt, 1tsp Lemon Juice & let sit for 10 minutes (milk type & yoghurt type doesn’t really matter)

Method:

Pre-heat oven to Gas Mark 5/190°C
In a Mixing Bowl, whisk eggs & sugar, then add buttermilk, oil, vanilla and honey/maple syrup.
Next add the oats, flour, baking soda & powder and stir until just combined.
Now stir in the bacon bits, chocolate chunks and zest – again, just until combined.
Divide the batter between 6 greased or lined muffin holes (are they called holes?), each should be about 3/4 full.
Bake the muffins for 15 minutes until a skewer or toothpick comes out clean.
Let cool for 5 minutes or so and shove in yo pretty little face 😀

NutritionLabel

yo

Leave a Reply

