Houmous

Image

I’m guessing you spell it hummus right?

I don’t really know how to spell it if I’m totally honest, because it’s one of those words where there isn’t a real spelling. If we’re being realistic, houmous is probably spelled closer to how it’s pronounced in the Middle East, but I suppose it doesn’t really matter. I’m far too tired to put my passion into how to spell the name of a dip.

Or spread. Houmous makes a fantastic spread for sandwiches and wraps.

I actually used to really dislike houmous purely based on the fact that it was thick, pasty, and beige. Why would I willingly put that into my mouth? But I suppose as I’ve aged and become wiser (says 15 y/o), I’ve learnt to go out of my comfort zone.

That’s all a joke really, but I mean I did try houmous. Once at a Lebanese restaurant and once from the supermarket; and they were good, so evidently I attempted to make it myself and IT IS SO DELICIOUS OMG AND SO EASY.

So there’s reason enough to try it. I can honestly say it’s the best houmous I’ve ever had. Says the girl who’s consumed 3 different houmous’s (?) in her life. BUT, if it beats a Lebanese restaurant, then surely it’s good right? Also, houmous is very basic in its main ingredients, so you can’t really mess up, in that way, if i say it’s good it has to be good right? Just a few of my own tweaks have made it what I would consider absolutely fantastic.

Enjoy!

DSC00120

Houmous

Makes: about 1-1 1/2 cups

Ingredients:

1 400g can Chickpeas (or equivalent cooked fresh)
4T Tahini
1 1/2 Lemons, juiced
2T Sunflower Oil (can use olive for a stronger taste)
2 cloves Garlic OR 1tsp Garlic Paste
1tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Ground Cumin
1/4tsp Black Pepper
Water
Optional: 1/2T Honey

Method:

In a food processor if equivalent, blitz together the tahini and lemon juice for 30 seconds (this helps create a creamier end product)
Next, add all your cumin, pepper, salt and garlic and blitz quickly, following up with the oil.
Drain and rinse your chickpeas, then add half to the food processor and blend till smooth. Repeat with the other half. The mix will be very thick as you do so, so add a little water between the batches to prevent a big lump (and overworking your processor).
Once all incorporated, add a little more water to your houmous and blitz until you achieve the consistency you would like.
You can add a little honey at  this stage if you wish, it’s not traditional but I find a very mild sweetness can really counteract the bitterness tahini can add.
Transfer houmous to a bowl to serve, or store in an airtight container in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

