chia bran waffles (high fibre)

DSC00144

You know it’s almost time for back to school? For those of you done with all that I suppose that’s not something to worry about and for that i envy you. I wish I could take the mindset of my mum who loved school back when she was rifling through what I like to call the struggle, however that is certainly not the case. I don’t actually understand her when she talks about how much she liked it – its really like a foreign language. Not to say that I don’t see the importance, but – just to throw in a little cheese for this post – I suppose you’ll never see the rainbow without a little rain. The rainbow being success of course which I do hope will come at the end of it.

DSC00145

My rant/worries put aside, I’d also like to say that I’ve always understood the importance of a good breakfast, but alas I did go through that stage many a girl goes through where they feel like skipping breakfast is okay. I know sometimes eating first thing in the morning is awful, but me, I’d much rather power through than be paranoid the person next to me thought I farted when in fact my stomach grumbled so loud it could have been revving a bloody engine.

Only 3 times once.

And so I understand the importance of a good breakfast now – it gives you energy for the day, keeps your metabolism up and keeps at bay any awkward hunger pangs. Now, not all of us have the time for waffles every morning (I definitely don’t, I value sleep over food in the morning any day), but on a day with extra time – or on a weekend – this is perfect. A great treat that’s filling, nutritious and high in fibre because i gotta say it’s likely you don’t get enough of it.

DSC00148

I know, I’m very considerate.

Chia Bran Waffles

Makes: 2 waffles        Nutritional: 340kcal, 10g fat, 14g protein, 4g sugar, 8g fibre

Ingredients:

50g plain flour
1T wheat bran (heaped)
1/2T chia seeds
1tsp baking powder
1/2tsp cinnamon
pinch of salt
1/2T coconut oil (or other)
1 egg white (or whole)
80ml milk of choice
* you can use 1T sweetener (of choice) here but i find sweet toppings mean no need

Method:

Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl.
In a separate bowl, beat the egg white until frothy
Mix the milk into the dry ingredients little by little.
Melt the coconut oil if using and stir this through too.
Gently fold in the egg white, to keep in some air.
Cook the waffles in a waffle iron according to your irons instructions, or alternatively, make into pancakes.
Top with syrup, fruit, whatever you please (chopped dates and a little honey is soooo goood)
Leave a Reply

